Coffee Glazed Chocolate Cake

This coffee glazed chocolate cake has such a deep chocolatey flavor it’s a must-try for all chocoholics!

Brownies

Most of the time when I’m in Malaysia my aunt asks me to bake something for her to bring when she goes to potlucks or barbecues (she normally just buys ice cream or something) so when she asked me to make something, I thought I couldn’t go wrong with a classic chocolate cake, could I?

The cake rises in the oven slightly but will deflate and flatten as it cools. The cake is then inverted to cool further, and also leaves a nice flat bottom to glaze!

cake slice.jpg

I paired this cake with a coffee glaze, which I made without cream (really because I ran out), replacing the cream for butter and milk instead (science!). The coffee flavor isn’t too strong, but just enough to heighten the chocolate flavor!

cake glaze.jpg

Oh my gosh, look at that chocolatey-coffee goodness! I made sure I had some leftover so I could lick the bowl! IF you despise coffee (which I doubt anyone could ever do), you could just omit the coffee and leave it as a chocolate glaze. OR, you could just leave the glaze out, the cake is just THAT GOOD. The possibilities are endless. You have to act quite fast at this stage because the glaze is essentially a ganache, which thickens as it cools, so it’s best to pour it on while it’s still liquid, but at room-temperature. I just poured it on and used my ladle to nudge the glaze down the sides. I quite liked the look of the glaze drizzled down the side but y’know more glaze the better right? To even out the glaze you can always tap the cake a few times on the counter. But seriously guys, this cake is SO DECADENT AND DELICIOUS! I even added a little bit of coffee to the batter which I do to anything chocolate, because it really brings out the chocolate flavor and you can’t even taste the coffee! AND, if you want to make a layered cake, just multiply the recipe and you can get one super cute chocolate layered cake with the decadent glaze dribbling down the sides – real classic.


Makes 1 8 inch round pan

Ingredients:

  • 170g (3/4 cup) butter, at room temperature + extra for greasing
  • 88g (3/4 cup) cocoa powder + extra for dusting
  • 94g (3/4 cup) all-purpose flour
  • ½ tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp salt (omit if using salted butter)
  • 100g (1/2 cup) sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 118ml (1/2 cup) buttermilk/sour cream (TO MAKE BUTTERMILK: Add 1/2 tbsp lemon juice/vinegar to a measuring cup and pour milk up to 1/2 cup)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp instant coffee

Method:

  • Preheat the oven to 350◦F / 180◦C. Butter a 8 inch round pan and line the bottom with wax paper. Grease the wax paper and then dust with cocoa powder.
  • Sift together flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, instant coffee and salt.
  • In another bowl, cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in vanilla.
  • With the mixer on low speed beat in ½ the flour. Beat in the buttermilk/sour cream. Beat in the rest of the flour
  • Spread the batter into the cake pan and bang on the counter to remove large air bubbles.
  • Bake in the oven for 30-35 minutes or until a skewer inserted comes out clean
  • Leave to cool in the tin on a wire rack for 10 minutes, and then flip the cake out onto the wire rack (bottom side up) and leave to cool completely.
  • OPTIONAL: glaze with chocolate glaze

What’s your favorite thing to bring to a potluck/barbecue? Let me know in the comments below! 

 

Leave a comment