Lemon Curd Muffins

These  muffins are just bursting with a bright, tangy delicious lemon curd!

Lemon Curd.png

I’m finally back in Vietnam! School starts in about 2 days, and I’m pretty sure I’m the only one whose sorta excited. I mean, the sense of restlessness is unbearable – I need something to do! Most of the time I bake to occupy my free time (instead of doing the homework I should be doing), but Malaysia has just gotten so hot even being in the kitchen with 2 fans on still made me sweat.

Processed with VSCO

I had some leftover lemon curd from when I made my Lemon Macarons, so naturally I tried to think of something to make with lemon curd so it wouldn’t go to waste when we went back to Vietnam. I scoured the good ol’ internet for ways to use up lemon curd, but the majority of websites just recommended putting it on scones or sandwiching it in between cakes – I couldn’t be bothered to spend hours in that hot kitchen making layers of cakes so I could use up the lemon curd! I wanted something where I just had to add the lemon curd and the throw it in the oven – easy.

Processed with VSCO

Then it hit me.

Muffins. So versatile and easy. I made some super simple vanilla muffins, place a little lemon curd in between and it brought those simple muffins to the NEXT LEVEL.

Aaaand, as an added bonus, they couldn’t be easier!


Makes 12

Ingredients:

  • 225g all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • Pinch of salt
  • 80g castor sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 125g plain yoghurt
  • 125ml whole milk
  • 75g unsalted butter, melted and cooled (if using salted omit salt from recipe)
  • 150g lemon curd

Method:

  • Line a muffin tray with 12 paper cases. Preheat the oven to 180◦C
  • Place flour, baking powder, salt and sugar in a bowl and whisk to combine and aerate
  • In a separate bowl, whisk egg, yoghurt, whole milk, and butter
  • Pour into the dry mixture and whisk until just combined
  • Spoon about 1 ½ tbsp of mixture into each case and top with a generous 1 tbsp of lemon curd. Add a final ½ tbsp of batter and gently spread to cover the lemon curd
  • Bake in the oven for 30 minutes or until golden brown.

*Tastes best still warm*


How do you use up your leftover lemon curd? Let me know in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “Lemon Curd Muffins

  1. I am so pleased you found my blog, and thank you so much for the follow. You have a stunning blog, and look forward to baking some of your treats 🙂
    These Lemon Curd Muffins sound so tasty and I love making muffins, so these will be next on my list 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

