Buttermilk Pancakes

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love breakfast. There’s only one way to say it. I love it. I suppose it’s because that’s the only time I can eat sweet food as a main meal without being judged: (honestly though, if I could, I would eat dessert for breakfast, lunch and dinner.). I personally do not like the whole eggs and beans and sausage thing, so instead, I make pancakes, waffles and crepes!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I make these pancakes every Sunday morning, no fail – and because they’re so easy to whip up, yet so fluffy and moist due to the buttermilk, I usually make a bit extra so we can still have pancakes on school days. I love smearing Nutella and peanut butter on mine, but my sister likes the classic butter and maple syrup. My dad, on the other hand, goes a whole weird route with sesame, ground flax-seed, cinnamon and peanut butter – I don’t even know. (sigh)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These are a STAPLE in all recipe books –  here’s the recipe:


Makes: 9-10

Ingredients:

  • 1 ¾ cup (218g) all-purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 3 1/3 tbsp sugar
  • 1 ½ cup buttermilk (6 tsp lemon/vinegar + milk up to 1 ½ cup)
  • 2 eggs at room temp.
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 14g melted butter
  • 2 tbsp oil

Method:

  • In a bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, salt and sugar
  • In a separate bowl, whisk together buttermilk, eggs, vanilla, melted butter and oil
  • Pour egg mixture into flour mixture and fold to combine (just until no more flour is visible – DO NOT OVERMIX, don’t worry if there are a few lumps)
  • Over medium heat scoop 1/3 cup amounts – cook for 1 minute on each side
  • To keep these warm while you cook the other pancakes, just pop them onto a wire rack and place them in the oven with the lowest temperature setting on (don’t leave them in too long though, because after 30 minutes they start to dry out)

 

I love putting Nutella and peanut butter on my pancakes? What do you put on yours? Let me know in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “Buttermilk Pancakes

Leave a Reply

