Langue de Chat

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

School’s in full swing now and whenever I’m doing some work I always get the urge to eat something. Normally I crave something with a crunch, and a hint of sweetness – and I found just the thing when I came across this recipe for Langue de Chat

I have ailurophobia, which is a fear of cats (don’t judge). I just find them super scary – especially living in Malaysia/Vietnam when you go to the open-air shops/kopitiams/hawker centers there’s always stray cats prowling around that aren’t afraid to walk through the tables and stroke my leg. My oldest sister and I share the same fear, so Rui, (who I swear has a mini fear of cats but just doesn’t show it) literally makes us jump when she walks behind us and pretends to stroke our legs like cats.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 I remember when I was 10/11 we went to this place in Malaysia for a school trip (I think it was called Gopeng) and basically everything was really environmentally friendly (e.g. the toilets were holes in the ground in huge black plastic buckets with doors cut out). Well we all ate at this sort of mess hall, and there was a bunch of stray cats that would linger around every time we would eat and wait for food. So one of my friends, who loves cats, picks up one of them (and this one had an infection in its ear I think) and tried to get me to touch it, putting it in my face. Naturally, having the BIGGEST fear of cats, I screamed….and ended up crying. I didn’t even touch the cat. If that doesn’t show how scared of cats I am, I don’t know what will.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I realized I went off on a tangent. Okay. Back to Langue de Chat. It literally means ‘Cat’s tongue’ in French, because the shape of the cookie looks like a cat’s tongue (gives me goosebumps just saying that) and is super simple to make. They’re a bit like tuilles ,so about 3/4 of the way through I decided to try bending them after they were hot out of the oven. I enlisted my sister and we made a super long thin one and attempted to bend it around a chopstick – which ended up failing because we took too long to do the actual bending (in our defense it was very hot) and it cooled and snapped. If any of you guys ever make this, be sure to try it out – it would look so cool.

I paired these with some dark chocolate and OMG they taste so good – a bit like Milano cookies was what my cousins (who by the way just left after visiting for a few days) said, but with a bigger crunch and a thinner cookie. They have a light sweetness that is just DELICIOUS and really really really addicting. Sort of like french fries, but crunchier and not savory. I kept eating while I baked the cookies which made the process all the better 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA


Ingredients:

  • 70g (5 tbsp) unsalted butter
  • 1 cup icing sugar, sifted
  • 3 egg whites, lightly beaten (just to break them up)
  • 2/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • Melted dark chocolate, optional

Method:

  • Preheat oven to 180◦C
  • Cream together the butter and sugar until fluffy with a stand mixer (paddle attachment) or electric mixers
  • Add ½ the egg whites and mix. (It may look a little funky right now but that’s okay)
  • Add vanilla and mix. Add ½ the flour (1/3 cup) and mix
  • Add the remaining egg white and mix.
  • Add the remaining flour and mix (near the end stop the mixer and go in with your spatula to fold in any visible flour)
  • Line a baking tray with parchment, drawing 4 lines each 2.5 inches apart
  • Pipe thin lines in between each pair of lines, roughly 1 inch apart (sort of how you would pipe eclairs, but thinner)
  • Put into the oven for 10 minutes
  • Take the tray out of the oven and immediately transfer the cookies onto a wire rack (the heat from the tray will continues cooking the cookies)
  • Allow them to cool on a wire rack, they will crisp up as they cool.
  • Serve with some melted dark chocolate if desired.

Do you have a phobia of anything? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

